Closing a Ticket

Once a ticket has been progressed through the workflow, and a resolution has been found, you will be able to close the ticket. It may be that the ticket has been re-assigned to you to resolve the issue, so the person closing the ticket may be different than the person who had originally opened it.closing ticket

Archiving Closed Tickets

When viewing live Tickets in the Summary screen;

Supervisors can:

  • Transfer closed Tickets to archive.
  • If necessary, restore the archived Tickets to live.

HelpDesk Users can:

  • View the archived closed Tickets by going to Summary Options > View Archived.
  • View or report on closed Tickets in the archive Folder.

When transferring Tickets to archive, only closed Tickets in the current view are transferred. You can use the options on the View menu to filter the Tickets. For example, using Date Range, you could archive last month’s closed Tickets.

If you are using Folders to compartmentalise your Tickets, then an archive is maintained for each Ticket Folder. Tickets are archived from the current live Folder to its associated archive Folder. Only closed Tickets in the current Folder are archived.

To archive closed Tickets:

Make sure your view only contains closed Tickets you wish to archive. Go to Summary Options and select Archive Closed. Before commencing the procedure, SupportDesk asks if you are sure you would like to archive Closed Tickets.

Restoring Closed Tickets

You can restore closed Tickets from archive to live. In archive, make sure your view only contains those Tickets you wish to restore. Then go to Summary Options and select Restore Closed. This option is only available to a Supervisor while viewing archive.

Deleting Records

You can delete archived records in view from the archive. Only the records listed in the current view are deleted. This option is available to a Supervisor while viewing archive (Summary Options > Delete All in View).

PreviousNext